HETS presents its 2013 Visionary Leadership Award to Manuel J. Fernós.

From left to right: Ms. Yubelkys Montalvo, HETS Executive Director; Mr. Manuel J. Fernós, Esq., HETS Chairman and President of IAUPR and Dr. José Jaime Rivera, HETS Treasurer and President of Universidad del Sagrado Corazón.

The HETS Board of Directors, presented to Manuel J. Fernós, HETS Chairman and President of the Inter American University of Puerto Rico (IAUPR) the HETS 2013 Visionary Leadership Award. This Award recognized President Fernós 13 years of outstanding commitment and support to HETS initiatives and the education in general. Dr. José J. Rivera, HETS Treasurer & President of the Universidad del Sagrado Corazón,  and Ms. Yubelkys Montalvo, HETS Executive Director, presented the Award to President Fernós, during the Opening Session of the HETS Virtual Best Practices Showcase, celebrated last Thursday, January 17, 2013 at the Theater of the Inter American University Metropolitan Campus.

HETS also honored President Fernós with a collage of pictures which evidence President Fernós’ support and dedication to this organization. Finally, some details about his extraordinary career where shared with the audience, as part of this award presentation.

This is the second time this HETS Visionary Leadership Award was presented to a Board Member in the 19 years of HETS existence as an organization. This award is presented only when the Board of Directors identifies a Board member who works and achievements are outstanding. President Fernós was selected to receive this award, due to his excellence guiding a centenary institution like IAUPR, and also for his commitment accepting for a second time the position as HETS Chair of the Board of Directors. His election was held last June, 2012, during the Board of Directors meeting held on Bronx Community College in New York. The term for this position is for two years, with the possibility to be re-elected for a second period of two more years. His first term as Chair of the HETS Board of Directors was for two consecutive terms of two years each starting in June 2003 until June 2006.


Trackback from your site.