

Report of the Nomination Committee

June 27, 2024

Submitted by: Dr. Kristina Harb, New Jersey City University Chair, Nomination Committee

Members

- Dr. Kristina Harb, New Jersey City University
- Dr. Nereida Díaz, Universidad Central del Caribe
- Dr. Carmen Lidz, Los Angeles Community College District
- Dr. Yubelkys Montalvo, HETS Executive Director

Summary of Process followed for 2024 Nominations:

- January 11 and 12, 2024: HETS Board of Directors Meeting was held at the Inter American University of Puerto Rico, School of Law.
- January 11, 2024: HETS Vice Chair, Dr. Olga Rivera, indicated that the Board needed to designate a Nomination Committee for the election during HETS meeting to be held on June 2024, and asked for volunteers. The three volunteers were approved by the Board. The general procedure was explained to the Board Members.
- April 25, 2024: A virtual meeting was held to discuss the protocol, procedures, and documents for the nominations, and it was agreed for the Chair of the Nomination Committee contact the candidates

and current officers to ask their availability to serve a second term in their positions.

May 10, 2024: All officers and candidates were contacted via email.

June 3, 2024: All officers and candidates accepted to serve a two-year term.

The recommended Candidates for the Executive Committee Officers are as follow:

Chair Eng. Gladys Nieves, President, EDP University

Vice Chair Dr. Carlos Vargas-Aburto, President, Southeast Missouri State University

Treasurer Dr. Olga E. Rivera, President and CEO, ICPR Junior College

Secretary Dr. Tomás Morales, President, California State University San Bernardino

Regional Representatives

Dr. Sumaya Villanueva, Assistant Provost for Academic Engagement, Office of Undergraduate Studies, John Jay College of Criminal Justice East Region

Dr. Carlos Morales, President, Tarrant County College, Connect Campus, Southwest Region

Dr. Maritza Rondón, Chancellor, Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia, International Representative